To be, or not to be: Street food, Sketch, & Shakespeare

There’s just about one week left in my study abroad program, and I want nothing more than to stay right here in London. In the meantime, there’s plenty of ways to keep busy. Most of my work days at Michael Kors are spent tracking press coverage, and styling in the fashion cupboard. During my lunch hour, my friend and I enjoy walking absurd distances for delicious food we found online. This week we tried Grill My Cheese, which was named the #1 street food to try before you die. Worth the twenty-minute walk? We thought so.

I’m not homesick for much, aside from specific loved ones, my tiny dog, and the occasional hockey game. If I can relocate my parents and furry best friend to London, I would be golden. Good news for me! My parent’s arrived on Monday just in time for their 25th wedding anniversary. In celebration of both their anniversary and our reunion, we dined at Sketch. I couldn’t leave London without having tea and dinner in the pink velvet gallery.

Believe it or not, I have done more than just eat my way through the United Kingdom. London is notorious for its association with excellent theater productions. I can think of no better place to see a Shakespearean production than in England. Last night I saw Hamlet, partly because of my longtime love of Shakespeare, and partly because of my admiration for Andrew Scott’s incredible acting.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

If you haven’t seen BBC’s Sherlock starring Benedict Cumberbatch, Martin Freeman, and Andrew Scott… well, then you need to because you’re missing out. As expected, Scott’s portrayal of Hamlet was just as outstanding as his portrayal of Moriarty. The play is so well done, in fact, that you won’t mind sitting through Shakespeare’s longest play, which is about four hours.

Leave a Reply

